JEWISH LEARNING

Grab a Cup of Coffee and Learn Online
with Melton ALL WEEK LONG!

Melton is pleased to offer, at no cost, a selection of sessions from our extensive course library ONLINE to learners around the world via Zoom.

MONDAYS

Freedom is a State of Mind: Passover 2020

Revisit the story of the Exodus from Egypt, considering its implications for our lives this year. The final lesson will offer a review of the Passover seder accompanied by some tips for current, relevant table discussions.

with Rabbi Dr. Morey Schwartz, Melton International Director

Three Mondays: March 23, 30; April 6, 2020
9 AM PDT/  11 AM CDT/  Noon EDT/  6 PM SAS

TUESDAYS

From Sinai to Seinfeld: Jews and Their Jokes

 Right now, many of us could use a good laugh! Treating Jewish jokes as text, this course invites learners to analyze and interpret the evolving concerns, styles, rhythms, preoccupations, and values of the Jewish people that lie buried deep in words that make us laugh and bond us as a people.

with Cantor Mark Childs, Santa Barbara

Four Tuesdays: March 24, 31; April 21, 28, 2020
5 PM PDT  /  7 PM CDT  /  8 PM EDT
(Wednesday at 11 AM AEDT, and 10 AM AEST after April 5th time change)

WEDNESDAYS

Leviticus (Vayikra): A Call To Holiness


 As our Torah reading cycle approaches the book of Leviticus, join us for a textual study of selected passages. This course uncovers the depth and wisdom of the third book of the Torah and reveals its enduring messages that touch our lives to this very day.


with Judy Snowbell Diamond, Course Author & Melton Coordinator of Educational Projects



Four Wednesdays: March 25; April 1, 22, 29, 2020
9 AM PDT/  11 AM CDT/  Noon EDT/  6 PM SAST

THURSDAYS

Jewish Medical Ethics:
A 21st Century Discussion



 While contemporary medical knowledge preserves life, modern advances have raised moral and ethical dilemmas related to the sanctity and dignity of life – issues whose scope was unimaginable a generation ago. This course will explore the many Jewish approaches to a variety of 21st century ethical issues.



with Dr. Sandra Lilienthal, Melton Master Teacher in Miami and Boca Raton



Four Thursdays: March 26; APRIL 2, 23, 30, 2020

Noon PDT  /  2 PM CDT  /  3 PM EDT

(Friday at 6 AM AEDT, and 5 AM AEST after April 5th time change)

Courses are being offered at no charge, although donations will be gratefully accepted. In place of books, registered learners will receive lessons electronically.




520 8th Avenue, 4th Floor, New York, NY 10018
Tel: 1-847-714-9843
meltonschool.org